Playing with (exotic) modes Part #2 & #3 ROS & SIM31

I’ve been QRT for more than 10 years. In my previous radio life I worked RTTY, SSTV, PSK, HELL and some PACKET. Nowadays the amount of (digital) modes is endless. So lately I started to play with as much as possible modes. I like to share with you my experiments. Keep in mind this are my personal thoughts, you might have a complete different idea about some modes !

Part #2 SIM31

Installed the SIM_PSK software and there we go … very similar to PSK, only more structured. You can set this in AUTO-mode, QSO’s are made for you automaticly. Legal or not, this really generates zero fun. Very few stations active. For one reason or another every 2 or 3 days there’s a new software version available. The program is on my PC and will try it again when I see a spot in the cluster … that’s all I have to tell about this mode. Not recognised by .ADIF, eQSL or any logging programs. Remark on the QSL card “Worked in SIM31 mode”

OZ1TMK

 

Part #3 ROS

About the same story as the SIM mode. The software (ROS v7.2.7) looks very flashy. Nice is a real time connection via internet between all users. In a box on top appears where stations are calling. A good help as the activity in this mode is very low.  Will never be my favourite but has some extras to the SIM mode … Managed to work a ZL station and the President of the European ROS Club !

Thoughts and experiences in other (exotic digital) modes to be published in the next days

©2015 ON4VT

This entry was posted in DX, ROS, SIM31, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

